Stanford University to Host 2013 National Collegiate Athletic Association Men's Water Polo Championship

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. -- The Cardinal of Stanford University will serve as host for the 2013 Men's National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Championship.

Slated for December 7-8, the four-team championship is currently set to be comprised of the champions/automatic qualifiers from the Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA), Western Water Polo Association (WWPA), Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) and an at-large team selected without geographical restrictions.

The site of multiple championships, the Avery Aquatic Center has hosted the 2004 and 2008 USA Olympic Swimming Team prior to the Olympics, the 2004 & 2011 Summer Junior and Senior Swimming Nationals and the 2006 FINA Masters World Championships - which featured 7,200 athletes from 75 different countries competing in all five aquatic disciplines. America's best divers came to The Farm in the summer of 2007 for the Kaiser Permanente National Diving Championships. The facility has also hosted the 2009 U.S. National Synchronized Swimming Championships, the Synchronized Swimming 2010 U.S. Collegiate Nation Championships and 2010 & 2012 Junior Olympic Water Polo Championships. The top collegiate water polo players previously descended on the Avery Aquatic Center in 2001, 2003, 2004, 2007 and 2008 for the NCAA Men's Water Polo National Championships and 2004 & 2008 for the NCAA Women's Water Polo National Championships.


View: Mobile | Desktop