2012 CWPA Eastern Championship Seeding Released; University of Michigan Earns No. 1 Seed

2012 CWPA Eastern Championship Seeding Released; University of Michigan Earns No. 1 Seed

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. -- The University of Michigan is the No. 1 seed for the 2012 Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) Women's Eastern Championship at Brown University on April 27-29 as the league office released the final decision of the seeding committee.

The Western Division champion, Michigan will lead the field of 13 teams into the championship tournament looking for the program's sixth Eastern Championship after previously claiming the 2002, 2005, 2008, 2009 and 2010 titles.  In addition, the Wolverines will seek to reach their fifth consecutive Eastern title game, a feat no team has equaled since Slippery Rock University made the 1988-96 Eastern championship games.

Per CWPA rules, the top two seeds in the tournament are reserved for the Western and Southern Division champions, as Princeton University, which captured the Southern Division crown, claims the No. 2 seed.  The Tigers are seeking their second league title game appearance and Eastern Championship in women's water polo after claiming the 2000 title.

The Western Division dominates the remaining three spots in the Top Five as Defending and 2003 Eastern Champion Indiana University and division regular season champion the University of Maryland hold the No. 3 and 4 seeds, respectively, while three-time Eastern Champion (2004, 2006, 2007) Hartwick College was selected fifth by the committee.

2001 Eastern Champion Brown University, Harvard University, Bucknell University, George Washington University and Mercyhurst College encompass a Southern Division run at No. 6-to-10, while Gannon University, Notre Dame College and Salem International University of the Western Division complete the 13-competing squads at No. 11-to-13.

Elected by the league's member institutions head coaches at the CWPA Annual Meeting during the summer, the head coach seeding committee for 2012 is comprised of Matt Anderson (University of Michigan) and Alan Huckins (Hartwick College) of the Western Divsion, Luis Nicolao (Princeton University) and Felix Mercado (Brown University) of the Southern Division, and neutral representative JJ Addison (Connecticut College). 

2012 Eastern Championship Seeding
1. University of Michigan
2. Princeton University
3. Indiana University
4. University of Maryland
5. Hartwick College
6. Brown University
7. Harvard University
8. Bucknell University
9. George Washington University
10. Mercyhurst University
11. Gannon University
12. Notre Dame College
13. Salem International University

Brown University, Providence, R.I.    
Friday, April 27, 2012

Game No.

9:00 8th seed - Bucknell
vs. 9th Seed - George Washington
10:20 4th Seed - Maryland
vs. 13th Seed - Salem International
11:40 5th Seed - Hartwick
vs. 12th Seed - Notre Dame
1:00 6th Seed - Brown
vs. 11th Seed - Gannon
2:20 7th Seed - Harvard
vs. 10th Seed - Mercyhurst
3:40 1st Seed - Michigan
vs. Winner Game 1 6
5:00 Winner Game 2
vs. Winner Game 3
6:20 3rd Seed - Indiana
vs. Winner Game 4 8

7:40 2nd Seed - Princeton
vs. Winner Game 5 9  

Saturday, April 28, 2012

Game No.

10:00 Loser Game 3
vs. Loser Game 2
11:20 Loser Game 5 vs. Loser Game 4 11
12:40 Loser Game 7 vs. Loser Game 6 12
2:00 Loser Game 8
vs. Loser Game 9
3:20 Loser Game 1 vs. Winner Game 10 14
4:40 Loser Game 11 vs. Loser Game 10 15
6:00 Winner Game 9
vs. Winner Game 8
7:20 Winner Game 6 vs. Winner Game 7 17

Sunday, April 29, 2012

Game No.

9:00 Winner Game 15 vs. Loser Game 14 11th Place
10:30 Winner Game 14 vs. Winner Game 11 9th Place
Noon Loser Game 13 vs. Loser Game 12 7th Place
1:30 Winner Game 12 vs. Winner Game 13 5th Place
3:00 Loser Game 16 vs. Loser Game 17 3rd Place
4:30 Winner Game 17 vs. Winner Game 16 1st Place

Teams listed first wear dark caps and are home on the scoreboard. Host team always wears dark caps and is listed first on the scoreboard regardless of seed.
Seeds 1, 2, 3 receive first round byes; Loser Game 15 automatically 13th Place

View: Mobile | Desktop