Collegiate Water Polo Association Releases 2012 Men's National Collegiate Club All-America Team

Collegiate Water Polo Association Releases 2012 Men's National Collegiate Club All-America Team

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. -- The Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) announces the selection of 100 student-athletes to the 2012 Men's National Collegiate Club All-America Team. Led by National Player of the Year Cem Carak of the University of Southern California (USC), the 100 student-athletes are broken down into Division I and III teams.

On the Division I team, 49 teams were recognized with at least one All-America selection.  On the first team, Carak is joined by Mike Byron of Illinois State University, Noah Orloff and Jack Yeager of the University of California, Jon Fouty of the University of Houston, Harrison Tingler of the University of Oregon and goalie Mike Scott of the University of California-Los Angeles.

Overall, 21 student-athletes earned First, Second or Third Team honors from the league's coaches/contacts, while 47 players picked up Honorable Mention accolades in the wake of the 2012 season.

On the Division III team, 32 individuals from 18 institutions received one or more All-America nods.

Tim Greer of Washington University, Noah Perwin of Bowdoin College, Tom Youngblood of Hamilton College, Jeff Skalon and Frank Wasielewski of Monmouth College, Will Havercroft of New York University and Benji Koltai of Tufts University encompass the First Team as a total of 29 student-athletes garnered Division III All-America notice.

Erik Neimeier of Augustana College, Spencer Vespole of Bowdoin College, Raheem Brown on Monmouth College, Austin Wood of Tufts University, Tim Greer of Washington University in Saint Louis and Wesley Fantini of Wesleyan University join Alex Hernandez of Monmouth College and Tony Passaro of Augustana College, who tied at the goaltender position, in earning First Team All-America honors.


Division I
Player of the Year: Cem Carak (University of Southern California)
First Team
Mike Scott (Goalie) University of California-Los Angeles
Mike Byron Illinois State University
Noah Orloff University of California
Jack Yeager University of California
Jon Fouty University of Houston
Harrison Tingler University of Oregon
Cem Carak University of Southern California

Second Team
Blair McDougal (Goalie) University of California-Santa Cruz
Kyle Rickert Indiana University
Evan Reynolds Michigan State University
Jason Mammino University of Florida
Tommy Cornelius University of California-Los Angeles
Zach Van Swol University of Illinois-Chicago
Juan Lopez University of Miami (Fla.)

Third Team
Travis Catron (Goalie) University of Florida
Trevor Heglund California Polytechnic State University
Kyle Passini Iowa State University
Justin Bowers Lindenwood University
Tommy Miceli Pennsylvania State University
Corbin Clarke University of California-Santa Cruz
Christian Hayes University of Utah

Honorable Mention
Alex Schlichting (Goalie) Cornell University
Daniel Harnish (Goalie) Dartmouth College
Neal Laxpatti (Goalie) Georgia Institute of Technology
Matt Temple (Goalie) Illinois State University
Mike Fisher (Goalie) Millersville University
Brad Alvarez (Goalie) Oregon State University
Michael Nydegger (Goalie) Saint Louis University
Justin Friedenthal (Goalie) University of Arizona
Taylor Earwood (Goalie) University of California-Santa Barbara
Mike Kruckemeyer (Goalie) University of Texas
Kevin Dunn Arizona State University
Parker Condi Boston College
Derek Smith California Maritime Academy
Jackson Ballew California State University-Chico
Caleb Greig Columbia University
Kai Golden Columbia University
Mario Martone Cornell University
Will Derdeyn Dartmouth College
Victor Gonzalez Florida International University
Jacob Gordon Florida State University
Pat Kraulis Illinois State University
Tommy Poulos Purdue University
Ivan Huang Rice University
Michael Schonoff Saint Louis University
Sam Delaney San Diego State University
Chad Conlin Texas Tech University
Dane Boudreau United States Naval Academy
Matthew Goodenough University of Arizona
Bill Farmer University of California-Los Angeles
Evan Ruggiero University of Dayton
Kevin Hughes University of Georgia
Erik Hernandez University of Illinois-Chicago
Alexander Niemeyer University of Massachusetts
Seigi Osawa University of Michigan
Nick Naruns University of Michigan
Chris Takahashi University of Michigan
Sam Shamburek University of Nebraska
Stefanos Kehagias University of North Carolina
Matt Stang University of Oregon
Jacob Warkov University of Oregon
Kevin May University of Southern California
Bobby Woolweaver University of Texas
Richard Bello University of Texas
Chris Watkins Vanderbilt University
Ben Mix Villanova University
Matt Sylvester Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
Dominic Kwok Yale University

Division III
First Team
Alex Hernandez (Goalie) Monmouth College 
Antonio Passaro (Goalie) Augustana College
Erik Neimeier  Augustana College
Spencer Vespole Bowdoin College
Raheem Brown Monmouth College 
Austin Wood Tufts University
Tim Greer Washington University in Saint Louis
Wesley Fantini Wesleyan University

Second Team
Allon Mordel (Goalie) Emory University
Conor McAuliffe Amherst College
Paul Musille Emory University
Tim Sherwood Grinnell College
Tom Youngblood Hamilton College
Tony Marino Monmouth College 
Shay Banton Washington University in Saint Louis

Honorable Mention
Anders Lindgren (Goalie) Amherst College
Graham Boyd (Goalie) Hamilton College
Jeff Elsner (Goalie) Washington University in Saint Louis
Navarre Ginsberg (Goalie) Wesleyan University
Michael Hanley Bates College
Basyl Stuyvesant Bowdoin College
Stephen Leech Emory University
Alex Jandernoa Knox College
Kai Cowger Macalester College
J Whelan Middlebury College
Josh Dunn Monmouth College
Will Havercroft New York University
Matthew Reid  Carnegie Mellon University
Russell Madison  Wesleyan University
Adam Hoburg United States Coast Guard Academy
Stephen Ranney Tufts University
Sky Walker Washington University in Saint Louis

View: Mobile | Desktop